KTuner Extended Testing And Tune Results

idragmazda

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Fk8
Country flag
@KTuner - I apologize for this newbie question as I'm still learning the basics of timing.

I want to know how to properly read the gauge titled "deg (IGN)" on KTuner (TunerView lite specifically)

If the gauge reads 30.50 does that mean there there is 30.50 degrees of ignition retarding?
And if it reads -1.00 does that mean there is 1 degree of ignition advance?

When people say "the ECU is pulling timing and reducing power", does that means the gauge will read more positive, correct (i.e. a higher positive number)?

Example: on a hot day, at WOT the gauge would read 30.50 but on a cool day at WOT the same gauge would read something like 20.50?

Lastly, approximately where should this gauge read under WOT or high RPM conditions (I understand all cars and scenarios are different, but ball-park wise)?

Thanks, and sorry for my elementary questions.

Last edited:
OP
OP
KTuner

KTuner

Elite Sponsor
First Name
J.R.
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.KTuner.com
Vehicle(s)
2017 Si
Country flag
Ignition advance.

Depends what the RPM is, temperatures are, boost levels, octane, etc. 30 and 20 at WOT, at what boost level? Or do you mean before boost kicks in?

idragmazda

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Fk8
Country flag
Ignition advance.

Depends what the RPM is, temperatures are, boost levels, octane, etc. 30 and 20 at WOT, at what boost level? Or do you mean before boost kicks in?
Thanks, basically I just want to know how I can tell (by reading the IGN gauge) if the timing is being retarded and the ECU is intentionally reducing power. Is there anything I can look out for?

I know to look at IAT above ~115F as an indicator that the ECU will likely be reducing power given the high-temps, but is there anything similar for the IGN gauge? Thanks.

OP
OP
KTuner

KTuner

Elite Sponsor
First Name
J.R.
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.KTuner.com
Vehicle(s)
2017 Si