About to pull the trigger on ECU...

Partinrn

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Civic Hatchback Sport 6mt
Guys, I am ready to get either Hondata or KTuner. I am leaning towards Ktuner, but heres the catch: I have an email from my salesman stating he spoke to a service tech about Hondata and stated in the email that Hondata will not void my warranty because it is backed by Honda. Obviously this is not true, but I do know through my law classes that if I did somehow mess my engine up, I would have a good defense because he was acting as a representative of Honda and stated it as a fact, not opinion. With that being said......I really would rather have Ktuner. Opinions?
Sponsored

360glitch

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Accord Sport 2.0T, 2017 Si Sedan (Sold), 2017 Sport Hatchback (Sold)
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
I'm no legal expert (far from it) but everything you sign at a dealership excuses errors and omissions. I'm sure that only goes so far, but I would not use your salesman's incorrect statement to determine which ECU tuner to purchase.

OP
OP

Partinrn

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Civic Hatchback Sport 6mt
I'm no legal expert (far from it) but everything you sign at a dealership excuses errors and omissions. I'm sure that only goes so far, but I would not use your salesman's incorrect statement to determine which ECU tuner to purchase.
Yeah, I thought about that too. My hope is that they would see two employees (the tech and the salesman) giving me information to run on. However, I think if push came to shove, Honda would pull something along the lines of "even though so and so told you this, that's just not the case...". I can dream of a slip up costing them, right? Of course, all of this is dependent on A: something happening to my motor, and B: Honda finding out it was tuned.

360glitch

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Accord Sport 2.0T, 2017 Si Sedan (Sold), 2017 Sport Hatchback (Sold)
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag