Eager noob here, questions about stock ECU trim adaptability to minor intake/exhaust mods

19sicoupe

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Honda Civic Si Coupe
Country flag
Hello! Long time lurker and new member to this awesome forum. Despite scanning various threads, I have a question I would love someone to help answer for me. I have a 2019 Civic Si Coupe, completely stock that I have owned since new. Sitting at about 24k miles. Would like to start modding mildly, and have a question about add-ons without using a Ktuner or Hondata:

-Can the stock ECU tune/trims accommodate a 27WON cai and AWE Touring exhaust?

Mainly looking for a slightly better response in breathing and exhaust gas release, with a (hopeful) increase in fuel economy. I've owned a few modded Civic Si's from the 90's and early 2000's. I remember getting some killer economy and better breathing back in the day by just these mods alone. SO happy I traded in my WRX and returned to my Honda roots...
Thanks in advance...!
Sponsored

Phy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'20 Civic HB ST, '18 Civic HB EX, '04 Ford Ranger
Country flag
Yes, if you get the street MAF. The exhaust has no effect on the ecu

OP
OP
19sicoupe

19sicoupe

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Country flag
Yes, if you get the street MAF. The exhaust has no effect on the ecu
Thank you for the reply! And by "street MAF" you are referring to that option givin by 27WON before purchasing the cai, correct?

gtman

First Name
Mitch
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.civicx.com
Vehicle(s)
2017 Cosmic Blue EX-L Sedan
Vehicle Showcase
Just so you know, those two mods will give you only minor performance gains. More sound than fury if you know what I mean.

As far as fuel economy, you won't see much of a gain honestly. To me, the better play (unless sound is your main goal), is to start with a base tune and take it from there. Fuel economy will stay stock-like at part throttle and the driveability improvements are a "wow".

OP
OP
19sicoupe