Dumb Question Alert - Shift Knob - Weighted vs Non-weighted

optikalillusi0n

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Civic Si Sedan
Country flag
Hey all,

I'm currently looking for a different shift knob from OEM for the AZ heat. I am confused what I should be looking for. Besides being heavier, is there any other difference between non-weighted and weighted knobs?
Is the stock Si shift knob weighted? And do I need a weighted shift knob?

Sorry for the dumb question, I am a novice when it comes to car knowledge.

Thanks again.
Sponsored

arpypat

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Civic
Build Thread
Link
Vehicle Showcase
"Weighted" vs. "Non-weighted" for aftermarket knobs is arbitrary because it's in relation to the OEM knob weight. Since different cars have different weight shift knobs from the factory, the term is kind of meaningless.

The Si knob is about ~180 grams

If you go lighter than that, you'll get a more tactile feel when shifting and will have to use a little more force to shift into gear. Some people prefer this.

If you go heavier, you'll find it a little easier for the knob to fall into gear - it requires a little less force. More people seem to prefer this feeling.

I personally went with a heavier knob. I chose the SuperKlasse runabout knob because of it's all-leather design and it's ~350g.

You don't NEED to have a lighter/heavier knob, but going too light or too heavy may have diminishing returns.

letsgoMINAJE

First Name
Minaje
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 CBP Si Sedan
Country flag
"Weighted" vs. "Non-weighted" for aftermarket knobs is arbitrary because it's in relation to the OEM knob weight. Since different cars have different weight shift knobs from the factory, the term is kind of meaningless.

If you go lighter than that, you'll get a more tactile feel when shifting and will have to use a little more force to shift into gear. Some people prefer this.