17redsi

First Name
Collin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Honda Civic Si Coupe
Country flag
I'm finally thinking about tuning my SI but after reading a few threads I'm beginning to question if I should. I have almost 160,000km on my 2017 SI (100,000 miles) and drive about 150km a day commuting to work. Most of the Drive is highway going pretty damn quick. I'm a very aggressive driver and honestly beat the crap out of my car. Its taken it with 0 issues other than injectors about 20,000km ago through warranty (which I have until 200,000km). My clutch is still like new after this much driving. I was thinking about doing a tsp stage 1 tune, intercooler, intake, clutch, and downpipe. Nothing crazy but still more than stock.

I'm just curious if there is anyone who has tuned a higher mileage car? Most people posting in the tune reliability thread only have a small amount km on their vehicle. I understand there is risk and I'll lose warranty. I just wonder if the risk has increased with mileage of the car and how by how much...
Sponsored

gtman

First Name
Mitch
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.civicx.com
Vehicle(s)
2017 Cosmic Blue EX-L Sedan
Vehicle Showcase
You have to understand how tuning and the tune reliability thread work. First of all, that thread is only a couple years old so while there are a few higher mileage cars, most are too new to have racked up massive mileage. If anything, many people wait to tune their car after the mileage warranty is over.

Honda makes great engines. There is definitely plenty of headroom to bump up power from the conservative stock tune. My suggestion. Start with the TSP tune and take it from there. That bump in power alone coming from the stock tune will astound you. If you want more down the road add it in.