First Name
Kham
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 FK8
Country flag
Hi fellas,
I just ordered a set of Advan TC4 18x9.5 +38 and was just wondering if hub centric rings are needed or should I be okay to just slap the wheels on. Thanks
Sponsored

MadMage

First Name
Dan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Type R
Country flag
I have those exact wheels and do not use hub centric rings. I swap them regularly with the stock wheels when I go to the track. So I run them hard (100++mph) and never had an issue.

As a mechanical engineer, I do not see any mechanical reason for them. Each lug nut is in itself self centering. So when you torque your lug nuts to 94 ft-lb, your wheels will be centered as closely aligned as needed.

Note, the TC4s (and most after market wheels) use a different type of seat on the lug nut, so make sure you get new lugs that fit the seat type.

OP
OP
KamenRider

KamenRider

First Name
Kham
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 FK8
Country flag
I have those exact wheels and do not use hub centric rings. I swap them regularly with the stock wheels when I go to the track. So I run them hard (100++mph) and never had an issue.

As a mechanical engineer, I do not see any mechanical reason for them. Each lug nut is in itself self centering. So when you torque your lug nuts to 94 ft-lb, your wheels will be centered as closely aligned as needed.

Note, the TC4s (and most after market wheels) use a different type of seat on the lug nut, so make sure you get new lugs that fit the seat type.
Thanks, do you know exactly which one is right for the TC4? I bought candy apple red one so would like lugs that matches.

MadMage

First Name
Dan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Type R
Country flag
Thanks, do you know exactly which one is right for the TC4? I bought candy apple red one so would like lugs that matches.