clay bar

David Harper

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Civic coupe
Country flag
I just clayed my car for the first time (I never clayed before), and even though I'm an avowed skeptic about everything, I can't believe how good claying works. I've been waxing cars for forty years, and I never realized I was waxing in a bunch of garbage that isn't removed by washing. I did the sandwich bag test, and I could feel all this grit on the surface of the paint. After claying, it's as smooth as glass. Does anyone know if clay removes the previous coat of wax?
Sponsored

Newflyer3

Banned
Banned
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Civic Touring
I just clayed my car for the first time (I never clayed before), and even though I'm an avowed skeptic about everything, I can't believe how good claying works. I've been waxing cars for forty years, and I never realized I was waxing in a bunch of garbage that isn't removed by washing. I did the sandwich bag test, and I could feel all this grit on the surface of the paint. After claying, it's as smooth as glass. Does anyone know if clay removes the previous coat of wax?
I use a dish soap solution as a lubricant with clay bar instead of the quick detailer it comes with so if anything that combination strips it right down.

neteng101

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Honda Civic Hatchback Sport Touring
Country flag
Does anyone know if clay removes the previous coat of wax?
You'll want to reapply wax after claying - and yes its pretty incredible how effective claying is. I haven't done it in a long while though because of the time and effort involved, but I used to do a 4 step post wash - paint cleaner then clay then polish then wax... you never knew how good your car can look until you've done this.

OP
OP

David Harper

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Civic coupe
Country flag