Which brand intake and why?

ElmoHongZito

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Civic Type R
Country flag
So based on what I have gained from reading the different threads the air intakes available for the CTR are from Injen, Venturi, Mishimoto, and AFE.

PLR seems to be dragging their feet but has one in the works.

I am a pure noob, just got my CTR and would like to understand the differences between the different available ones available and why you prefer one over the rest.

Some things I care about...

#1 - sound (specially turbo blow off)
2- ease of install and uninstall in case I need to slap back the OEM one when taking back to dealer for any repairs under warranty
3- cost
4- avoid check engine light
5- better or equal power to stock intake

Please elaborate as much as you can as I would like to make my decision based on the responses to this thread as will other members that want to see everyones feedback on one post.

Thanks in advance
Sponsored

Z06_Pilot

First Name
Jeff
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 CBP CTR #15484 | Corvette Z06's | Toyota Tundra #2, | Mini Cooper Countryman Works edition | Can-Am Spyder | Ducati X-Diavel
Country flag
Congratulations on your find!....these cars are very hard to get at a reasonable price for sure.

I have the AFE/Takeda CAI installed:

1.Not as loud as the Injen from what I have read here, but definitely a louder and more present pop-off sound than stock
2.I installed mine in 1 hour, and I am pretty slow. I'm sure others probably accomplished it in quicker time. My stock CAI is completely intact (including OEM tie straps) and I could pop it back in at any time.
3. I did not really compare costs between various CAI's. I went by the universal rave reviews of the AFE, and the fact that no one I read about had experienced a CEL (check engine light), as a result of installing it.