Wheel locks - what kind & how many do I buy?

Mikias

First Name
Mikias
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Civic Type-R
Country flag
I've spent a lot of time scouring the internet to find a definitive answer for this question and I've seem to come up short.

I have a '19 Type-R with just factory lugs and I'd like to add a layer of protection for wheel theft. Internet - and this forum - says to grab wheel locks but I don't see a consensus on what size wheel lock or type that needs to be used. I'm operating under the assumption that my requirements are: 14x1.5mm / Ball Seat Wheel locks.

I've also seen a lot of discussion around buying on your own for a reduced price over going through the dealer (~$100). I can see a pack of 4 wheel locks for 57$ on Amazon, so am I to buy 5 sets of these? 1 for every lug?

Or is the wheel lock supposed to be 1 or 2 per wheel?

I'm new to all of this. Thanks in advance for any help.
Sponsored

gtman

First Name
Mitch
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.civicx.com
Vehicle(s)
2017 Cosmic Blue EX-L Sedan
Vehicle Showcase

SCOPESYS

First Name
Geoff
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Honda Civic SI Coupe. . . . . . . .1987 Nissan Maxima Wagon. . . . . . . . . . .1987 Nissan Pulsar NX . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1987 Nissan Maxima Wagon (2nd Donor Wagon for parts)
Country flag
I've spent a lot of time scouring the internet to find a definitive answer for this question and I've seem to come up short.

I have a '19 Type-R with just factory lugs and I'd like to add a layer of protection for wheel theft. Internet - and this forum - says to grab wheel locks but I don't see a consensus on what size wheel lock or type that needs to be used. I'm operating under the assumption that my requirements are: 14x1.5mm / Ball Seat Wheel locks.