Transmission leak from inside bell housing

jdmbaganha

First Name
Ricardo
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Honda Civic Type R #2118
Hey guys. New to the forum so this is my first post. Has anyone else dealt with a transmission leak on their Fk8 Type R? Car is a 2017, #2118.

Hit 4000 miles in my fk8 and the maintenance minder popped up. Changed the oil today and noticed a tranny fluid leak at the base of the tranny at the inspection plate. Removed the inspection plate and it's definitely coming from inside the bell housing. Everything else is dry. It's not engine oil because the oil was at the top of the mark on the dip stick. I have noticed the shifts becoming notchy and not as smooth. I didn't check the tranny fluid level. I am a mechanic by trade but it's obviously under warranty so I'm not touching it. Any feedback with people that have dealt with something similar would be great.
Sponsored

turboshawn

First Name
Shawn
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
87 Buick Grand National, 11 GTR, 18 CBP Type R, 11 Tundra Rock Warrior
Country flag
I think one or 2 others guys had this issue.. guy said it was a casting issue with the trans case an got new transmission. If you search u should find it under one of the many transmission threads

OP
OP
jdmbaganha

jdmbaganha

First Name
Ricardo
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
I think one or 2 others guys had this issue.. guy said it was a casting issue with the trans case an got new transmission. If you search u should find it under one of the many transmission threads
Looked for the post you were talking about and I think I found it. I Pm'ed the guy in that post. Thanks for looking out. I'll keep the post updated as I go about this problem.

turboshawn

First Name
Shawn
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Country flag
Glad u found it

360glitch

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Accord Sport 2.0T, 2017 Si Sedan (Sold), 2017 Sport Hatchback (Sold)
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag