amirza786

First Name
A
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Polestar 2, 2010 Lexus IS 350 Sport
Country flag
I am new to this forum, and the reason I am writing this post is due to some negative posts from Civic Si owners I have read. I am by no means an expert on cars, I don't have a degree in engineering nor am I a mechanic, most of my knowledge of cars comes from 30 years of owning and driving various cars, reading, and of course Google! I believe that a lot of people have a fundamental misunderstanding of the Si. Before I get into that, let me give some of my background.

I have always loved and been fascinated by cars. To me, they are an engineering marvel. We were a VW family, and in my early years in the 1980's, I drove and owned several VW's, from the Dasher, to the Rabbit GTI. In the 90's I moved on to a Mercedes 1976 280S. I can tell you, German cars drive great, but they need constant maintenance, which is not cheap. Because of this and the fact that I did not have much money at the time, I learned to work on my own cars (as long as it wasnt an engine rebuild!). I eventually got a loan from my dad and started buying cars from dealer auctions to sell, and here is where I had a lot of exposure to many different cars. I did this for a few years while I was finishing college.

I eventually got a real job, and in 1995 decided to trade in my 1990 Chevy Cavalier Z24 for a 1995 Toyota Corolla. This is when I learned what a real car was. Let me make a long story short, Toyotas last, they don't break down, and I have owned nothing but Toyotas since then. In fact, the Corolla stayed in my family until 3 years ago when my nephew traded in for $8000 credit (cash for clunkers) towards a Toyota Prius, and it was still running great!