123sillyboy123

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 CTR
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
Noob question,
What is retrofit means for lighting? Seen ppl mentioning it and i am new to this
Sponsored

krees

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Civic Type R & 2020 Ridgeline BE
Country flag
Noob question,
What is retrofit means for lighting? Seen ppl mentioning it and i am new to this
Usually, it means installing hid/led projectors in place of a halogen reflector. This requires opening the headlights and usually some fabrication.

Acey

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'18 Coupe Si HFP
Country flag
In the case of our lights, it requires no fabrication for several projectors that have more than adequate performance.

Acey

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'18 Coupe Si HFP
Country flag
Well that’s not accurate at all.
Depends what you consider fab. I've built them with RetroQuick. Pretty much a straight swap and easy as fuck. I consider it fab when you have to cut up a bunch of shit. If anybody considers ours to be a difficult retro and requiring fab they should not even attempt it. The person who doesn't even know what a retro is certainly should not be doing a retro.

airickmatthews

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
17 civic hatch sport
Country flag
Depends what you consider fab. I've built them with RetroQuick. Pretty much a straight swap and easy as fuck. I consider it fab when you have to cut up a bunch of shit. If anybody considers ours to be a difficult retro and requiring fab they should not even attempt it. The person who doesn't even know what a retro is certainly should not be doing a retro.
There’s still some trimming involved with the retro quick kit. That’s why I said wasn’t accurate. But yeah, it’s not a lot of trimming to do, but I think most people are just scared to pop the lense off. Lol. I’m in the process of doing mine now with the morimoto D2s mini 5.0. I have a lot of cutting to do but so far so good.

NHCivicGuy

Threads
Reaction score