Removing fine scratches

Vigawla

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Honda Civic Sedan 2017 VTi-LX
Hi all, the industrial vacuum hose I was using to vacuum my car accidentally swiped the side door of my car. It's the cosmic blue variant. Attached below are the photos. The scratches are not deep and cannot be easily seen, yet it's existence is not good.

I'm totally new to detailing and have been lurking on the forums a lot to get tips about maintaining and detailing cars.

What products would you recommend to help remove or mask the scratches?

I've already put on a coat of Autoglym HD Wax about 3 weeks ago - if I use scratch remover products, do I need to remove the wax or can I just leave the previous coat of wax alone?

Honda Civic 10th gen Removing fine scratches IMG_0742.JPG

Honda Civic 10th gen Removing fine scratches IMG_0736.JPG

Honda Civic 10th gen Removing fine scratches IMG_0742.JPG

OP
OP

Vigawla

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Thanks, that really is a good video. But woah!, I was looking at products only such as Autoglym scratch remover. Are products doing the same thing as sandpaper but with a much finer grit?

Also, I'm a bit concerned that a post-sand paper polish won't bring the paint back to how it was (although the video shows it does). In other words, I'm afraid there'll still be a slight haze.

Does anyone have experience using sandpaper or products on a metallic paint such as mine?

neteng101

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Honda Civic Hatchback Sport Touring
Country flag