gbhstrat

First Name
Bruce
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Audi S4
Country flag
I am looking into buying a 2020 Type R as both a daily driver and for lapping day (HPDE) events. Some background: I am a older guy with years of track experience. I am a driving instructor with my local Porsche/BMW/Audi clubs in Washington State. I am considering a type R for a couple of reasons and I am looking for feedback on my thinking. I want to retire in a year and not have to give up HPDE events. I need an economical car to track about 5-8 time a year and be a reasonable street car. My wife likes the Civic R and that’s half the battle when I am looking at cars. The BMW M3 is perfect but I am concerned about the tire and brake cost. My son has a 2016 M3 with a track pack and it’s one of the best cars I have driven on the track. Tires and Brake cost are just too high. I don’t expect the Civic to be in the same league as the M3 but it’s the driving experience that I actually enjoy now. I have owned a Camaro, 2 Porsches, 2 STIs and current have an Audi S4. I only keep a car a couple of years, drive the crap out of them and move on. I can’t afford to do this in retirement. My thinking is to get a 2020 type R with the better cooling and two piece rotors, get a set of 18” tires for the street and track and keep the 20’s for resale someday. My question for those that track their CTR’s, do you agree with my thinking? Are there other considerations I am missing for the maintenance of the Honda?

My other question is how you track prep your car. Are stock pads OK for a ½ hour run group? Do you swap pads for HPDE days (Pagid yellows)? Are their other mods that help track related issues like heat?
Sponsored

Hoobastnk90

First Name
Jeff
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Honda Civic Type R
Country flag
Well one concern is the heat issue it remains to be seen if the 2020 model will have the same issues as the previous years.

Lust

First Name
Michael
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)