oil dilution ktuner for 10th gen si?

  1. melecioSi

    melecioSi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    Thanked:
    2
    Location:
    chicago
    Car(s):
    2018 Civic Si Coupe
    hey everyone, new to KTuner here. Just got mine installed and flashed but at one point my ktuner asked me if I had gotten the oil dilution recall done on my car and I hit no because the recall I got done was due to the AC unit and the whirling noise coming from the engine and I did not think it mentioned anything about diluted oil. Was there an oil dilution recall done on the 2018 10th gen si's? I am in illinois. If there was a recall done and I hit no, what happens now?
     
  2. gtman

    gtman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Posts:
    5,392
    Thanked:
    5,559
    Occupation:
    CivicX addict
    Location:
    U S of A
    First Name:
    Mitch
    Car(s):
    2017 Cosmic Blue Civic EX-L
    That was most likely the dilution recall. Honda doesn't use the term "oil dilution" for obvious reasons. ;) As part of the "fix", the A/C unit is replaced/software updated and the engine idle is sped up so the engine warms up faster.
     
  3. KTuner

    KTuner Senior Member
    Elite Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,883
    Thanked:
    2,449
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    First Name:
    J.R.
    Car(s):
    2017 Si
    You can also clear tunes on the unit and plug it in fresh to be asked the same setup question.
     
  4. OP
    melecioSi

    melecioSi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    Thanked:
    2
    Location:
    chicago
    Car(s):
    2018 Civic Si Coupe
    thank you. Re-did it and did it right this time. now my question is; when i cleared the tunes i didn’t flash back to stock when i plugged it back in. I noticed when I went under the tuning menu, the back to factory setting is grayed out. did i lose my factory tune? the one that was uploaded when i first plugged it in. I see a factory tune on my device but I heard the one that comes with the ktuner is not the same exact one. can you clarify that with me?
     
  5. KTuner

    KTuner Senior Member
    Elite Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,883
    Thanked:
    2,449
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    First Name:
    J.R.
    Car(s):
    2017 Si
    You flash to factory on the V2 as outlined right in the help for locking/unlocking the unit.

    The factory tunes are factory tunes. Not sure where you've heard otherwise. You must be thinking of another software company who has been putting people back to factory on the incorrect software versions. That's not us.
     
    melecioSi and dallasjhawk thanked this.
Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...