Newbie here - advice on Honda Sentinel Cancellation?

rodralig

First Name
Alfred
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Civic Si Sedan 2019
Country flag
Hi to ALL -

Newbie here - new driver of a Civic Si Sedan 2019 here. Just got a 36-month lease yesterday.

I know this probably may not be the best way to start of my first post, but just need advice on how to tackle my problem.

... make no mistake, I like the Civic Si. Already 70-mi on the Odo, and am loving it...

That said, since this was my first lease, I asked my sales representative to tack on a pre-paid maintenance contract for the duration of the lease. He added a contract called "Honda Sentinel." I didn't even know it was called "Sentinel" until I was talking with Finance on going through the paperwork.

Anyways, the contract was signed. I got home and started checking what the "Sentinel" is all about. Unfortunately, this only covers Oil Change, and other stuff that I don't need like Tire Protection, Roadside Assistance, etc. Checking the Honda Financial Services, the sales representative should have given me the Maintenance Contract (oil change, tire rotation, safety inspections, etc.).

I have included the URLs below:

Sentinel: https://www.hondafinancialservices.com/static/pdf/Honda_Care_Sentinel_Coverage.pdf
Maintenance: https://www.hondafinancialservices.com/leasing/maintenance-program

That said, during my lunch break at work, I called up Honda Financial Services and asked them to cancel. I was told that since the contract is fairly new, my record is NOT yet in their system and I would have to call the Finance manager at the dealer.

Thus, I got in contact with the Finance department at the dealer, and was told that this could have been a miscommunication with the sales representative, etc. I emphasized that I never specifically asked for "Sentinel;" I asked for "pre-paid maintenance." He said that he will talk with the sales representative once he is back (he is out today and tomorrow).