New to the RL car world

cbtn98

First Name
Christopher
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Civic LX-P
Hey everyone, so as you can see by the title I'm new to the car world. I say RL because growing up I always fantasized about cars and driving so I lived it through games. Just recently (few weeks ago I'd say) I got my first NEW car. I had a older 2007 Honda Accord but I just got my gen 10 Civic. I'm in love with it. It's almost better than I imagined. But I'm not gonna lie, I know very little about cars themselves. Sure I can drive, but I want to know the machine. So any words of advice from yall experienced car guys? Anything is welcome. I did do drivers training but I come to conclude it is almost a waste. I slept the whole class and managed to pass without a problem whilst being a top student. Maybe not a waste, but could be done better. Point being, I know general maintenance. (How to do it is another story because my mom when I grew up always had this theory that if "they break it it's on them not us" so I've only had to take it to a dealer ship and never do any real work.) sorry for all the text. Trying to have a good first impression. If I'm disrespectful at any point please put me in check lol.
Sponsored

xcoreflyup

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Hatchback Sport (Traded in), 2022 BIG PRIUS
Country flag
Well..Congrats..my HB sport is my very first brand new car as well.

Now, back to the business. If you really are as new to cars as you sound like right now, go read through the owners manual and note that there is a "break in" period for the first 600 miles of the car. Also, go learn about basic maintenance and know which part needs maintenance at what mileage. That will save you alot of headache, both money and time.

PolishedLX

Banned
Where were fighter jets to stop vegas shooting?
Banned
Threads
Reaction score
"50/50 kid" but on the "right side" of coin flip!
Vehicle(s)
The car that made all others obsolete, "doh, self-explanatory"