Need advice re: water stains

Tags

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Audi A3 Quattro, 2020 Volkswagen Tiguan
Country flag
This weekend I was parked in the garage of a nice SoCal resort hotel. After three days when I got the car back out into the light I noticed hard-water stains covering a significant area on the windshield, hood, and roof. They were gray-white in color and had a rough texture to the touch. When the windshield stains didn't respond to a gas-station squeegee I checked the spot where I had parked more closely and saw that high above there were corroded holes in a couple of water pipes, causing a steady drip. I filed a report with the garage and they offered to pay for a car wash, but since I have a monthly subscription anyway I told them not to worry about that and I'd keep them posted.

Back home now and with a car wash not doing anything, I'm contemplating my options.

Any DIY suggestions for removing the stains? Obviously I'm more comfortable being aggressive with the windshield than with the paint. And if it comes to it I will try to get satisfaction from the garage, but that still means I'll have to take the car somewhere and get ... what done to it?
Sponsored

pdrumns

First Name
Phillip
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Honda Civic SI Coupe and 2019 Nissan Kicks
Country flag
Take the car to a recommended auto detailer--- problem solved