1. Guest, see the CivicX Forum Rules and User Agreement before posting.  After reading click here to dismiss this notice →
    Dismiss Notice

Loss In Power?

Discussion in 'Civic Type R Forum (FK8 - 10th Gen)' started by skankmanky, Nov 8, 2018.




  1. skankmanky

    skankmanky Typ._.Arr

    Rank:
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Posts:
    72
    Thanked:
    87
    Location:
    Charlotte
    First Name:
    JD @typ._.arr
    Car(s):
    2018 PMM FK8 Type R
    So I was driving pretty hard on some back roads today and at high speeds I experienced the engine losing power briefly under heavy acceleration. Has anyone experienced this?
     
  2. civicls

    civicls Senior Member

    Rank:
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Posts:
    405
    Thanked:
    119
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Car(s):
    2017 Honda Civic EX-T, 18' Odyssey Elite, 07' Sienna
    Might not help but possibly you lugged the engine--ie too high of a gear,
     
  3. tylermmorton

    tylermmorton Senior Member

    Rank:
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Posts:
    65
    Thanked:
    34
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Car(s):
    Civic Type R #1362
    Did stability control start to kick in?

    I know the car will cut power around a corner if you're pushing it too hard...
     
  4. OP
    skankmanky

    skankmanky Typ._.Arr

    Rank:
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Posts:
    72
    Thanked:
    87
    Location:
    Charlotte
    First Name:
    JD @typ._.arr
    Car(s):
    2018 PMM FK8 Type R
    No it was before redline.
     
  5. OP
    skankmanky

    skankmanky Typ._.Arr

    Rank:
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Posts:
    72
    Thanked:
    87
    Location:
    Charlotte
    First Name:
    JD @typ._.arr
    Car(s):
    2018 PMM FK8 Type R
    I was on a straight away
     
  6. Driveitlikeuboughtit Senior Member

    Rank:
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    Posts:
    560
    Thanked:
    359
    Location:
    TN
    Car(s):
    2018 CW CTR
    No cods, no VSA light? How bad was the power loss? Like the car was literally trying to shut down or a slight dip in power output and then back to full power?
     
  7. Micah Senior Member

    Rank:
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Posts:
    1,320
    Thanked:
    718
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    Car(s):
    '17 Si 4DR FlashPro +9psi (3k-14k) Ktuner TSP Stage 1(now) '17 Traverse LT AWD
    What gear were you in, and at what speed? Was this while moving straight or turning? Uphill, flat, or downhill?
     
  8. OP
    skankmanky

    skankmanky Typ._.Arr

    Rank:
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Posts:
    72
    Thanked:
    87
    Location:
    Charlotte
    First Name:
    JD @typ._.arr
    Car(s):
    2018 PMM FK8 Type R
    Around 105mph in 5th gear flat straight away.
     
    02SilverSiHB thanked this.
  9. OP
    skankmanky

    skankmanky Typ._.Arr

    Rank:
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Posts:
    72
    Thanked:
    87
    Location:
    Charlotte
    First Name:
    JD @typ._.arr
    Car(s):
    2018 PMM FK8 Type R
    Slight dip then back on
     
  10. Driveitlikeuboughtit Senior Member

    Rank:
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    Posts:
    560
    Thanked:
    359
    Location:
    TN
    Car(s):
    2018 CW CTR
    What were road conditions like? Did you maybe hit a patch of gravel or a puddle?

    I've had power reduced but I'll see the little yellow VSA light flash on too on the dash. Were you just not looking or can you confirm that you didn't see any lights on the dash when the power dropped?
     
  11. Micah Senior Member

    Rank:
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Posts:
    1,320
    Thanked:
    718
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    Car(s):
    '17 Si 4DR FlashPro +9psi (3k-14k) Ktuner TSP Stage 1(now) '17 Traverse LT AWD
    My guess is you managed to hit a fuel cut somehow. Any mods? Post a datalog and someone here can take a look.
     
  12. OP
    skankmanky

    skankmanky Typ._.Arr

    Rank:
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Posts:
    72
    Thanked:
    87
    Location:
    Charlotte
    First Name:
    JD @typ._.arr
    Car(s):
    2018 PMM FK8 Type R


    IMG_0565.jpg
     
  13. OP
    skankmanky

    skankmanky Typ._.Arr

    Rank:
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Posts:
    72
    Thanked:
    87
    Location:
    Charlotte
    First Name:
    JD @typ._.arr
    Car(s):
    2018 PMM FK8 Type R
    AFE Scorcher and PRL intake tube and filter. How do you post a datalog
     
  14. Micah Senior Member

    Rank:
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Posts:
    1,320
    Thanked:
    718
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    Car(s):
    '17 Si 4DR FlashPro +9psi (3k-14k) Ktuner TSP Stage 1(now) '17 Traverse LT AWD
    Use Ktuner or Hondata to datalog.... unless you are using some crap piggyback system like AFE or RACECHIP in which case you can purchase an ELM327 bluetooth adapter and use that with appropriate software to datalog. Best bet would be to take the piggyback off the car and see if the same behavior occurs in similar driving conditions.
     
  15. Micah Senior Member

    Rank:
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Posts:
    1,320
    Thanked:
    718
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    Car(s):
    '17 Si 4DR FlashPro +9psi (3k-14k) Ktuner TSP Stage 1(now) '17 Traverse LT AWD
    If you can spend the money on a CTR, and on those parts - do yourself a favor and purchase a ktuner. Hell you can buy them used on the marketplace here. If you really want to prove that AFE Scorcher is doing a good job, marry the Ktuner to the car (which means letting them flash your ECU.... details here http://ktuner.com/ktunertyper/), then datalog the car using the AFE Scorcher without changing the factory stock map on the car.
    http://ktuner.com/17civictyper/
     
Loading...

Share This Page