KTuner V2 and Computer

vandy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Civic Si
Country flag
Sorry in advance if this has been asked/answered. But I feel like the more I read, the more confused I get. And I've never done any kind of tuning before.
I understand the difference between V1.2 and V2 is that V2 includes the monitor. That being said, will I need a computer at all in order to load the maps (if I buy a V2) to my '17 Si? I have a MacBook, and I don't want to deal with Basecamp, nor do I want to buy a Windows laptop solely for loading KTuner. I already expect I'll be boring and I"ll load the TSP Stage 1 tune and will likely never tinker with it again.
Thanks for the help.
Sponsored

hobby-man

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 WRX STi, 2018 Sport Touring Hatchback (sold)
Build Thread
Link
Country flag
V2 = need a PC to load the tune files, can flash in the car without a PC

V1.2 = need a PC physically in the car to flash tune files

OP
OP
vandy

vandy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Civic Si
Country flag
V2 = need a PC to load the tune files, can flash in the car without a PC

V1.2 = need a PC physically in the car to flash tune files
Thanks. As another alternative I could buy Windows for Mac too, right? I don’t like the idea of dropping $300 for another device just to load files one time.

Micah

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'17 Si 4DR FlashPro +9psi (3k-14k) Ktuner TSP Stage 1(14k-30k+) '17 Traverse LT AWD
Country flag
Speaking from experience. Bootcamp has horrible issues with usb connections dropping when using ktuner v1.2 and Hondata race. I have a MacBook pro which I love but for loading maps I use a Dell laptop.

The sad fact is Apple devices are nearly useless for tuning. Thank apple and their walled garden approach. I guess you could give parallels a try instead of bootcamp, or hell maybe even virtualbox.

OP
OP
vandy

vandy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Civic Si
Country flag