First Name
Richard
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 WOP Si Coupe, 2014 Kawasaki Ninja 650
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
Hey folks, I'm a bit of a noob and could use some wisdom. Nearing my first 15K and it's about time to change my engine air filter. I was considering just a WIX one or a reusable K&N but then I figured I'd go down the rabbit hole that is CAI & SRI.
  • Any recommendations for CAI or SRI considering pricing and ease of install? (K&N, PRL, Mishimoto, etc.)
  • Will I need to tune my car after or is it plug and play?
  • Last but not least, I live in California and K&N won't even ship here. Will I even pass a SMOG/CARB?
THANKS IN ADVANCE!
Sponsored

Last edited:

type_r_wannabe

First Name
Matt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Honda Civic Si Coupe WOP
Country flag
I'll answer in the order you asked:

1. Dont even bother with a SRI it does nothing for the car, just get the PRL Cobra CAI and dont look back. really easy install if you have a US model. traditionally SRIs are meant for low end power but we have a turbo for that. The dyno results show SRIs almost doing nothing for the 10th gen Si
2. If you get the PRL Cobra CAI, theres 2 options: Street MAF and Race MAF. Street MAF does not require a tune and Race MAF does.
3. This isn't an issue if you get PRL. should be fine.

I can fully vouch for the cobra. it's amazing and literally sounds like a blowoff valve. Also the most tested and verified CAI for our car

OP
OP
rwnl2012

rwnl2012

HDMI Butt
First Name
Richard
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
I'll answer in the order you asked:

1. Dont even bother with a SRI it does nothing for the car, just get the PRL Cobra CAI and dont look back. really easy install if you have a US model. traditionally SRIs are meant for low end power but we have a turbo for that. The dyno results show SRIs almost doing nothing for the 10th gen Si