I bought new tires, still not balanced after 2 attempts.

Alex2893

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Honda Civic Hatchback Sport Touring Polished Metal
Country flag
I got the new Goodyear Eagle Exilerate tires for my 2017 Civic hatchback sport touring. I got the tires mounted and balanced at a Mr. tire which got good reviews. I am new to the Delaware area so idk what shops are legit and which ones are not. So I get the tires mounted and balanced. I leave and right when I hit 47 whomp whomp whomp whomp whomp. The faster I went the worse it got. But I had plans that afternoon so I couldn't go back. I went back today to the same place and I different tech figured out the front two were out of balance. It's mostly cabin vibration in getting which I thought would mean the back tires were out of balance. So I left and started driving. It definitely felt better. However once I got to a smooth road, while it wasn't as bad whomp whomp whomp whomp whomp whomp. I just went out at midnight to really test it and it's quite obvious they are not balanced perfectly. They are close but close is only good enough in horshoes and hand granades. I do not want these tires I spend almost $700 on ware uneavenly.

I'm not really sure what to do now. Do I go back a third time to the same place or find a better place? But then I'd get charged. Or do I just take it to Honda?
Sponsored

Derek.

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Civic Sport HB 6MT, 1996 Accord EX 4dr 5MT
Country flag
Their wheel balancer must have a digital readout that indicates if the wheel still requires additional weights. I don't see how any tech would remove the wheel from the balancer without it reading "0". If they didn't re-check the rear, have them do that. Maybe go on a road test with one of their techs.

Are you using the stock wheels? If no, did your aftermarket wheels require hubcentric spacers that they didn't put back on?
When was the last time you had the suspension inspected?

OP
OP

Alex2893

Threads