How to properly Engine Brake

TouringBlue

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Civic Touring
Country flag
Full disclosure: I just learned that Engine Braking is a thing and I'm blown away by it even though it's pretty straightforward and common.

So how do you properly apply this when you're driving at 60 mph and you want to slow down a descending hill? Is it simply shifting from D to L (or S) after I let go of the accelerator pedal? I get a bad gut feeling that I may be doing something that could harm my CVT.
Sponsored

Last edited:

gtman

First Name
Mitch
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.civicx.com
Vehicle(s)
2017 Cosmic Blue EX-L Sedan
Vehicle Showcase
Full disclosure: I just learned that Engine Breaking is a thing and I'm blown away by it even though it's pretty straightforward and common.
Don't jinx yourself. It's engine "break-in", not engine breaking. ;)

Just vary your speed and no wide open throttle under 600 miles. I've been doing it this way for well over 30 years and my cars have been fine.

Last edited:

gtman

First Name
Mitch
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.civicx.com
Vehicle(s)
Vehicle Showcase
Oh, you're talking about engine "braking". That's just a way to save a little bit of wear and tear on the engine by dropping the transmission a gear or two instead of riding the brakes. On the CVT, dropping it into S will give you some engine braking. I wouldn't use L unless you were on a lower speed, steep downhill.

Last edited:
OP
OP
TouringBlue

TouringBlue

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Civic Touring
Country flag
Oh, you're talking about engine "braking". That's just a way to save a little bit of wear and tear on the engine by dropping the transmission a gear or two instead of riding the brakes. On the CVT, dropping it into S will give you some engine braking. I wouldn't use L unless you were on a steep downhill.