How to learn about cars as a casual driver? (YouTube, games, etc.)

Seriphyn

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Honda Civic Si 2019, Honda Civic EX 2007
Country flag
Hi everyone,

I do enjoy my brand new Civic Si. I know it's 1.5L turbo, inline-4. I know engine size isn't really everything, but if I want something loud and powerful sounding, I want a V8. But talk to me about something as basic as spark plugs (well I might be exaggerating there), and you've lost me.

I am interested in a great many things. IRL I am a history teacher developing a new curriculum based around themes rather than content (i.e. how do monarchies differ across time vs who was the king of somewherestan on 2nd October 1498). I have a very broad interest but not very in-depth with any particular era or subject. So in other words, I don't have time to be a full-on petrolhead, because I'm busy doing so many things.

Despite this, I'm quite interested in knowing about cars, but again in this general sense. Not necessarily wanting to know in-depth mechanics, but being able to look at a car on my daily drive and know where it stands in the hierarchy of things. I play a bit of Forza Motorsport 7 (though it probably doesn't surprise you I use a controller) and like to watch Scotty Kilmer on YouTube from time-to-time. I know American cars are unreliable because of their focus on short-term profit vs long-term thinking in Japanese business culture.

So how can I get into cars without hanging out with any car fanatics IRL or driving a great variety of cars IRL? The Grand Tour on Amazon Prime perhaps? Particular YouTube channels? What to consider when playing FM7?

Sorry if this is really vague to ask. Thanks in advance!
Sponsored

racer

First Name
Dave
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Civic Si sedan.
Country flag