HELP! Dealership wants their car back or I fork out more money. WTF Honda.

Goseki

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Civic Touring
Country flag
So the dealership just calls me and tells me that I don't qualify for the $500 recent grad discount. He said that since I graduated medical school instead of bachelor's that it wouldn't count so I would have to pay another $500. This basically makes my "great deal" nearly the same as other dealerships. Kind of pissing me off since they ran through a similar routine when I bought the car and tried making me finance $10000 instead of the $7500 which would've made the interest a lot higher. My other option is to just undo the deal and get my old car back and my money back which I'm kind of leaning towards at this point. What do you guys think, is this something that Honda dealerships typically do?
Sponsored

racer

First Name
Dave
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Civic Si sedan.
Country flag
Have you signed any paperwork? I am confused.. He called after you left with paperwork and a car? then its on them. Or did someone realize as they reviewed paper, but you hadn't signed anything, that they made a mistake?

If you have signed paperwork and possession of the new car, its on them. If there is no signed contract, its a shit move, but it is legal. As for "getting your old car back".. well.. guess that would depend on what they've already done to it.

OP
OP
Goseki

Goseki

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Civic Touring
Country flag
We signed the contract and everything. I've had the car for about 5 days now. Part of the discount on the contract was the $500 recent graduate rebate. Now he calls and says that I didn't qualify per Honda Financing and that I would have to pay the rebate back.

Looking online, I guess this is a scummy tactic. Tell people they qualify for some rebate through financing, then tell them no so they end up paying more.

Micah

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)