slothin49

First Name
Elijah
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Civic Sport Sedan (Leased)
Country flag
In the process of installing my new sound system on my 19 Civic Sport sedan (Touchscreen/Carplay unit). Everything is in and it appears my JL Fix86 is causing some static noise through the speakers. Have any of you experienced anything similar using a Fix86 in your car?

Power and audio wires are ran separately along the sides of the car. Amp is grounded to proper bare metal ground. Am 99% sure the static is coming from the Fix. Even with Head Unit at 0 volume static comes through.
Sponsored

shoegazer

assistant to the assistant manager
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Civic LX Coupe 2.0 (CVT)
Country flag
Short answer: I have no experience with that product.

But we may be able to spot the issue if you post more information. All the components, how they are connected, and their locations might shed light on the issue.

My gut says that it's a ground issue. Going to 'bare metal' can still be problematic since there's so much HondaBond used today. You can try a temporary dedicated ground wire to a factory ground point or just directly to the battery to rule them out.

kperalta

AluminiumCivic
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Honda Civic Touring
Country flag

But we may be able to spot the issue if you post more information. All the components, how they are connected, and their locations might shed light on the issue.

My gut says that it's a ground issue. Going to 'bare metal' can still be problematic since there's so much HondaBond used today. You can try a temporary dedicated ground wire to a factory ground point or just directly to the battery to rule them out.
Some people have also recalibrated the fix 86 and that lowered the static.

OP
OP

slothin49

First Name
Elijah
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Country flag

- Ran a 1kHz @ 0dB tone to find the HU clipping point. Came out to 23/40
- Calibrated Fix86 w/ JL test tone and HU set to 23/40