Brake Hold doesn’t work?

Zeffy94

First Name
Matt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Mazda3 GT Hatch 6AT, 2018 Honda Civic Type R (traded in)
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
So yesterday and this morning I noticed that I could not turn on the brake hold feature. I would press the button but nothing would happen. I tried giving it more pressure but still nothing. It’s worth noting that to activate it in the past I sometimes had to push a bit harder, as if the button wasn’t going down to the activation point with a lighter push.

It’s not the biggest deal but I liked the peace of mind that brake hold gives so I don’t have to worry about rolling back on a hill since I’m still learning to drive a stick shift. I was just wondering if anyone else had this issue?

The car is at 650 miles; no other issues but this one. I thought it could have been related to not pushing the clutch/brake when trying to activate it but it just doesn’t seem to activate. I also tried it in different gears and neutral but nothing works.
Sponsored

amnesiac

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Civic Si Sedan
I don't know about your specific problem. But with my Si I have never used brake hold but hill assist still works; I assume the Type R has hill assist as well.

More interesting to me, is that one would buy a Type R to learn to drive a manual transmission.

18Si

First Name
Chris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
18 civic si 16 forester xt 13 lancer
Did you have your seatbelt on? I have a steep driveway and noticed it wouldn’t turn on if you didn’t have seatbelt on.

OP
OP
Zeffy94

Zeffy94

First Name
Matt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
Seat belt was on - I tried activating it while driving (which I could do before this started happening) but still nothing.

boosted180sx

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 CTR, 2016 ILX
Country flag
did you spill something over the button at anytime? the button may possibly have gotten stuck? idk.