nYdGeo

First Name
Geo
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Civic Type R, 2015 Civic Si
Country flag
My car is 4-weeks old on Friday, May 17th and has about 1500-miles on it. When shifting at most any RPM, most any throttle position, including hard acceleration at WOT and high RPM, regardless as to how fast I shift, when I get back on the throttle, I experience a full second or so of lag before I'm on boost again. This doesn't seem right to me, but I've no previous experience with a factory turbocharged vehicle that's equipped with a bypass instead of a blow-off valve.

I've asked around and no one seems to know other than one person that responded, telling me that my CTR should not have that kind of lag during a WOT, high-boost, high-speed pull. He also wrote that the cheap, mostly plastic bypass valve on my car could be leaking boost, making my car lag like an old-school blow-off valve. He recommended I replace it with a Boomba billet aluminum bypass valve. I don't hear a blow-off type noise, nonetheless, it seems possible.

Anyone have any thoughts on the amount of lag I'm experiencing? Anyone else ever experience or hear of anything like this, regarding the bypass valve? Any words of experience and wisdom are welcome and appreciated.

Have a great day!
Sponsored

Learn2turn

First Name
Christopher
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'79 Toyota Longbed PU, '95 (Drift Toy) Miata, '05 Tuned Gran Prix White S2000, '19 Championship White C-Type R
Country flag
Hmmm... just curious, is it an A21 series ECU?
What is the boost guage showing during the event?
Maybe you could catch a video of it.

Roadcone

First Name
Kyle
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'14 FR-S + '19 CTR
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
unless i'm really hammering the car and maintaining big rpm mine falls completely out of boost on a shift and acts like i nearly stopped the turbo. it feels like a ssecond or so until it comes back up to 22-23psi at times.

Design

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)