Attention Flashpro users with 2016 model year.

  1. Sgtstaadanko

    Sgtstaadanko Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Posts:
    549
    Thanked:
    388
    Location:
    Earth
    Car(s):
    2016 Civic EX-T
    #1 Sgtstaadanko, Mar 2, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2019
    You need to return to stock and get the recall done at a dealership BEFORE you attempt to flash ANY new tune. If you flash a tune before getting the recall done you will be stuck with a dash full of errors and unable to return to stock. The only fix for that is getting the dealership to flash the recall over your tune.

    From Hondata forums:

    Screenshot_20190302-091327_Chrome.jpg

    Updates to the saga, big shout outs to @Syntek for keeping us updated, his car is not eligible for the recall so he is stuck with 2016 binaries. I've been too nervous to do anything hondata or recall related until they get this all sorted out.

     
  2. KMui

    KMui Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Posts:
    35
    Thanked:
    5
    Occupation:
    E-Commerce Marketing Analyst
    Location:
    Chicago
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Car(s):
    2016 Honda Civic EX-T CVT
    Yup this cost me $150 out of pocket for my dealership just for audit of the errors. SMH
     
  3. Syntek

    Syntek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    434
    Thanked:
    225
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Car(s):
    2016 WOP Honda Civic Sedan EX-T
    Ah, so the 2016's are getting the update as well. Had an appointment this wednesday for the CVT grinding issue. I'll flash to stock beforehand then
     
    Sgtstaadanko thanked this.
  4. Syntek

    Syntek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    434
    Thanked:
    225
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Car(s):
    2016 WOP Honda Civic Sedan EX-T
    Seems I need to elaborate on this as I just entirely fucked myself.

    DO NOT UPDATE YOUR FLASH PRO BEFORE RETURNING YOUR CAR TO STOCK IF YOH DONTDHAVE THE RECALL UPDATE.

    I can't even flash the car back to stock after updating the flash pro and it's firmware to the latest version.
     
    Sgtstaadanko thanked this.
  5. Arlington10thgen

    Arlington10thgen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Posts:
    63
    Thanked:
    49
    Location:
    Arlington
    Car(s):
    16 Civic EX-T
    Im guessing you cant even build a new tune on the update unless you have the honda update. My question is, what if you cant get the update because the dealer says you are eligible for it......
     
    Sgtstaadanko thanked this.
  6. Syntek

    Syntek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    434
    Thanked:
    225
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Car(s):
    2016 WOP Honda Civic Sedan EX-T
    Unsure. About to find out in a bit to see if my dealer is able to do the update on my car or if it's ineligible. If not, then Hondata needs to find a solution to this problem since their software update is what broke the car to begin with.
     
    Sgtstaadanko thanked this.
  7. KMui

    KMui Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Posts:
    35
    Thanked:
    5
    Occupation:
    E-Commerce Marketing Analyst
    Location:
    Chicago
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Car(s):
    2016 Honda Civic EX-T CVT
    @Syntek I had the same problem as OP. I took it into the dealer and they returned my ECU and updated TCM to stock (w/ the oil dilution update). They charged me $150 for the error audit though.
     
  8. Arlington10thgen

    Arlington10thgen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Posts:
    63
    Thanked:
    49
    Location:
    Arlington
    Car(s):
    16 Civic EX-T
    wait, you got charged? What a rip and they probably noted you were tuned so bye bye warranty
     
  9. Syntek

    Syntek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    434
    Thanked:
    225
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Car(s):
    2016 WOP Honda Civic Sedan EX-T
    Apparently my dealer has no idea of this update for the 2016 civic. I'm in Los Angeles. Dealer is Galpin Honda. Starting to wonder if this is a regional update as I was told and did some light searching to see that might be true.
     
    Sgtstaadanko thanked this.
  10. Arlington10thgen

    Arlington10thgen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Posts:
    63
    Thanked:
    49
    Location:
    Arlington
    Car(s):
    16 Civic EX-T
    So now what? I was told regional as well. so you stuck with a car in limp mode?
     
  11. Arlington10thgen

    Arlington10thgen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Posts:
    63
    Thanked:
    49
    Location:
    Arlington
    Car(s):
    16 Civic EX-T
    This is weird, how is it a honda problem when they updated their tunes? Clearly not everyone can get the update. This is on their forum and found on facebook too

    53309111_2275410182778174_5877381939614187520_o.jpg?_nc_cat=104&_nc_ht=scontent-dfw5-1.jpg
    53643402_2275440749441784_6429814583279484928_o.jpg?_nc_cat=101&_nc_ht=scontent-dfw5-1.jpg
     
  12. KMui

    KMui Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Posts:
    35
    Thanked:
    5
    Occupation:
    E-Commerce Marketing Analyst
    Location:
    Chicago
    First Name:
    Kevin
    Car(s):
    2016 Honda Civic EX-T CVT
    Yikes, I hope it's not a regional one. Were you able to save your previous calibration before you flashed your ECU with the 3.2.4 update?
     
  13. Syntek

    Syntek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    434
    Thanked:
    225
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Car(s):
    2016 WOP Honda Civic Sedan EX-T
    Yeah, all my calibrations are saved on my laptop but even those are giving me the same symptoms when I upload them to the ECU.
     
    Sgtstaadanko thanked this.
  14. Syntek

    Syntek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    434
    Thanked:
    225
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Car(s):
    2016 WOP Honda Civic Sedan EX-T
    Upon further reading, I found that apparently even if I'm able to revert back to stock, the stock calibration will have the updated binaries for the oil dilution and will need the updated TCM as well.

    ....So what does that mean for the people who can't update their TCM due to not being eligible/or dealer can't update?
     
    Sgtstaadanko thanked this.
  15. Arlington10thgen

    Arlington10thgen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Posts:
    63
    Thanked:
    49
    Location:
    Arlington
    Car(s):
    16 Civic EX-T
    really? So anyone not able to obtain the update is up a creek on hondata if they update the manager? This seems less than ideal.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...