2018 Tacoma Owner looking to make the switch..

ItWasRatedR

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Toyota Tacoma
Country flag
Hi guys,

I am a new member on this site. I am looking to get into either a Civic Type R or a WRX STI and I would love some advice.

I currently daily drive a 2018 Tacoma TRD Offroad, and after owning it for sometime I realize my dream truck was not what I had thought it would be.

I had always loved the WRX STI and my mom currently owns a 2014 hatchback, so I have some experience with the EJ.

So I’m looking for the best, most bonkers driving experience I can get out of a DD. I want my commute to work to be fun, and I want to be able to rip around on back roads.

I frequently commute between Richmond, VA and Pittsburgh, PA so I will definitely see some snowy weather.

So the short of it is, I want to trade in my truck (although beautiful, reliable and kinda fun to drive) for something good looking, reliable and even more fun to drive.

I just want some advice!
Sponsored

krees

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Civic Type R & 2020 Ridgeline BE
Country flag
I love my type r but would likely have skipped it for an sti if I lived in the north east. Assuming this will be a year 'round daily, I'd wait for the next gen sti before choosing and I would take a wrx over the sti if you have to buy now. The ctr is no doubt a great daily and super fun but I would not drive it in the winter though there are plenty of folks that do.

Good luck on your search either way.

.grimace

First Name
Byron
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Honda CTR, 2022 Range Rover , 1990 CRX SI
Country flag
I’d also wait and see the next gen before buying. The STI is still awesome but needs a new motor so badly I couldn’t buy one as is.

jmartin

Rouleur
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Ctr 2015 Challenger srt 2016 Yamaha R1m 2002 Gmc Lifted Duramax
I would keep the Tacoma until the new Sti comes out.

NapalmEnema

First Name
Alex
Threads
Reaction score