2017 Si Driving Impressions and review - Turbo lag?

Psy-q

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2014 BRZ Spor-tech manual.
Hello All,

I work in sales at a Honda Dealer. ( Not the crappy type, we take care of our reputation) I am a huge car guy and I especially like Japanese performance cars. I was very excited when I got a txt from my sales manager saying we got 7 Si Civics dropped off.

I daily drove 2009 FA5 and currently daily a 2014 BRZ Limited 6 speed manual. I am definitely not a "Chip your Ex-T and you got an Si, BRAH" type. I'd like to think I can appreciate all the little things JDM manufacturers do to separate regular models from their performance models.

I felt underwhelmed when I drove the 2017 Sport Hatch 1.5t 6 Speed. Felt like an economy under-square little thing with a tiny little turbo, didn't like it. Drove a 2015 Si back to back just to confirm and yeah, that was not good. Shifter especially left a lot to be desired, I don't understand why this forum thinks the EX-T powertrain is special, doesn't like to rev, rev hang, narrow power band. Nothing like the K or B series.

I was really excited to see that Honda changed that powertrain feel so much.

Here goes: 2017 Civic Si Coupe (Canadian trim, driven in Sport mode):

Good:

Looks:

I drove to work early to check it out and I was surprised how good it looks in the flesh. The wheels, the spoiler the oversized vents, the center exhaust - to me personally it looked really good. Looks low and wide, I like it. Interior is good with the black headliner and the seats.

Ergonomics:

Seats are awesome as they have always been since the 8th gen. I am 5 8, athletic build and felt very comfortable in it. Bolsters are aggressive but not as aggressive as 8th gen or my BRZ.

The shifter:

Much better than the unit in the Sport hatch, but not as good as the 8th gen or my BRZ. It is shorter and more "heavy". Feels the same as the 9th gen.

The Sound: