Why new wheels when buying winter tires?

Gadifer

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Touring
Country flag
Hello all. I'm a novice at wheels and tires. I'm considering buying snow tires as the season approaches. In the threads I've looked at people seem to be buying new wheels as well as tires. Can someone explain why?

Thanks,

Marc
Sponsored

Newflyer3

Banned
Banned
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Civic Touring
Hello all. I'm a novice at wheels and tires. I'm considering buying snow tires as the season approaches. In the threads I've looked at people seem to be buying new wheels as well as tires. Can someone explain why?

Thanks,

Marc
Because I dont want my machined finish wheels with black inserts to get damaged, corroded or suffer from pitting during the winter season.

Also, its easier to swap over the set of wheels everytime I change rather than to remount tires onto one set of wheels

OP
OP
Gadifer

Gadifer

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Touring
Country flag
Because I dont want my machined finish wheels with black inserts to get damaged, corroded or suffer from pitting during the winter season.

Also, its easier to swap over the set of wheels everytime I change rather than to remount tires onto one set of wheels
Thanks. What are the different considerations you take into account, other than aesthetics, when choosing wheels?

Newflyer3

Banned
Banned
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Civic Touring
Lol cost. Im using Lx OEM steelies with hubcaps because Im a poor bitch

Newflyer3

Banned
Banned
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Civic Touring
On my other cars, I prefer steelies without the hubcaps. It looks better in my opinion.
Ehhh the guy who sold me the wheels on Craigslist took em off his LX after 200kms so hubcaps were included. For winter, it's all about cost, fitment. I bought OEM steelies knowing they would fit and that I wouldn't have to deal with measuring. If they rust, fuck it, I'll paint over them. EZ

hunter44102