Whirring/whining noise from turbo?

dlee1001

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Honda Civic EX-T with Honda Sensing
I'm really new to CVTs and turbocharged engines, so please pardon my ignorance. :)

I got an EX-T about a week ago, but I didn't really notice until now that if I slightly press the accelerator pedal while coasting at certain speeds, I hear some kind of whirring/whining sound as if something inside the car is spooling up. Looking at the turbo boost gauge, every time I hear that sound, the bars on the gauge go up.

This whirring/whining sound is quite faint, but it is noticeable enough for me to hear. I may have answered my own question here, but is this a normal sound for a turbocharged engine? It's not annoying or bothersome, but I was just curious.
Sponsored

Sgtstaadanko

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Civic EX-T
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
If it corresponds to the turbo gauge than it's probably the turbo. Although I do get a small whine from what I believe to be my cvt above 4k rpms.

Touring

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Honda Civic Touring, 2013 Honda Civic EX
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
All normal turbo sounds and they're awesome. I love when you're slowing down at a light or a stop sign with your windows down and you can hear the turbo winding down. Sounds almost like a mini jet engine. Then when you really hit the gas it goes from a slight whine to a loud whooshing.

OP
OP

dlee1001

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Honda Civic EX-T with Honda Sensing
All normal turbo sounds and they're awesome. I love when you're slowing down at a light or a stop sign with your windows down and you can hear the turbo winding down. Sounds almost like a mini jet engine. Then when you really hit the gas it goes from a slight whine to a loud whooshing.