What to consider when changing to a custom muffler?

zabih107

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Honda Civic EX
Country flag
I have a 2016 civic EX and it has a single exhaust pipe. I have recently installed AEM cold air intake and I love the throatier engine sound. I wanted to have the exhaust a bit louder as well (not too loud though). I decided to go with a custom muffler. There are so many different types out there. I'm just wondering, what should I consider when buying a custom muffler? Does diameter of stock pipe and custom muffler matter to consider? This is my first car so I have no previous experience or knowledge regarding this. Thanks for any help and advice.
Sponsored

invader

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Corolla Hatch SE 6-spd
Country flag

indexcow

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Honda Civic EX (Crystal Black)
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
I have a 2016 civic EX and it has a single exhaust pipe. I have recently installed AEM cold air intake and I love the throatier engine sound. I wanted to have the exhaust a bit louder as well (not too loud though). I decided to go with a custom muffler. There are so many different types out there. I'm just wondering, what should I consider when buying a custom muffler? Does diameter of stock pipe and custom muffler matter to consider? This is my first car so I have no previous experience or knowledge regarding this. Thanks for any help and advice.
@zabih107 I have the same car and I went went with a 2.5 inch diameter Flowmaster DBX muffler. The stock exhaust pipe is 2 inches diameter by the way. https://www.amazon.com/Flowmaster-12414310-DBX-Muffler-Moderate/dp/B004TRXNEA

OP
OP
zabih107

zabih107

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Honda Civic EX
Country flag
@zabih107 I have the same car and I went went with a 2.5 inch diameter Flowmaster DBX muffler. The stock exhaust pipe is 2 inches diameter by the way. https://www.amazon.com/Flowmaster-12414310-DBX-Muffler-Moderate/dp/B004TRXNEA