Trying to Understand some Hondata Tables.

dgboyle

First Name
Dave
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Civic Type R, 2010 Civic DX-G, 2016 Ford F350
Country flag
I am new to tuning the FK8 but have experience tuning other cars that are not torque table based ie. standard Honda ECUs. I am looking further into the below tables after reading all of the tuning guides:

If I raise my torque table limits but if timing isn't advanced and the turbo max ratio tables and air charge limit are not touched the demand will not be met.

QUESTION /STATEMENT 1 : I can understand the 'air charge limit' because that's a percentage of total cylinder filling. Considering this is absolute pressure the cylinder take 14.5psi / 1 bar then at 230% filling of the cylinder will be 130% of additional air or, my interpretation, 1.3bar / 18.85 psi. Am I correct?

QUESTION / STATEMENT 2 : I think I understand 'turbo max ratio (temp)'. As the temperature in IAT2 (basically the outside temperature coming into the air box) increases and the RPM increases the absolute pressure (as I understand it above) will be limited more and more. What I don't understand is why the values are so high: at 90 degrees F at 7000 rpm the limit for cylinder pressure is 2.23 of absolute pressure or 1.23bar/17.8psi. Is my understanding correct?

QUESTION / STATEMENT 3 : If I am understanding thus far then the 'turbo max ratio (PA)' should be easier. Depending on how far you are from sea level the PA will change. Depending on the pressure measured in the engine (ranging from 0.7 up to 1.0) and what rpm you are at there are limits for the over all cylinder pressure. At 0.9 PA and 6500rpm the value 3.47 means 1 bar of pressure in the cylinder and 2.47 additional bar of pressure?

Timing is easy to understand but the above are the key to unlocking the bigger picture for me.

Can someone please help get me going on this with some concepts

Much appreciated
Sponsored

kefi

oh shit waddup its dat boi
Threads
Reaction score