Tires to replace stock?

latexyankee

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Civic EX-T
Ex-T so I have the firestones. One of the most common complaints I heard early on was the quality of the tires. I've been driving a truck for the past 9 years so I'm just getting back into the mode of zipping around in a car. I do drive the wifes subaru once in a while but I just wrapped it in 4 new Michelin last fall.

I don't find the stock tires too bad. They're not exactly super grippy but I "think" they are ok. However I've been driving the 4runner for 9 years w 4wd that I would put on in heavy rain and of course when snowing. I guess I'm just a little worried as summer brings the torrential downpours and I'm not sure how my driving style will fair with the stock rubber considering I'm used to flying by cars with 4wd. I dont drive super aggressive but I will take the lane or make a move, I will not just sit back and take it if traffic is moving dead slow. I know I want confidence while maneuvering, braking nd good accel in wet conditions. Snow is snow and while some tires are better than others, I drive slow regardless because....snow.

Am I selling these tires short, just being OCD or do I have a cause for concern here? If so any recommendations and comments on how handling has improved?
Sponsored

CosmicSilver

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Civic EX-L
I have an EX-l and driving in the wet here in Western Washington I have had no traction issues. Dry traction seems pretty good but I'm sure a grippier tire would improve things...sure would be nice if Honda used Michelins like the old days ;(

I'll probable just drive on the Firestones for a few years then get something better.

sometimestwice

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Civic EX sedan
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag