et4891

First Name
ET
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Civic Type R 2019
Country flag
Sorry I am new with car stuffs, please bare with me if questions are quite dumb.

Recently I got a Type R, and I realized it comes with a summer tire but in Vancouver the weather here is mostly rainy all year and some snow during the winter. I am not using the car for tracks. So I am thinking of getting a set of new tires which would fit for the whole year without changing between winter / summer tires when season comes.

I did google around but don't really know what should be good. I thought of changing rim to 19" but quite a few people and read this post https://www.roadandtrack.com/car-cu...5683452/smaller-lighter-wheels-hurt-handling/ that keeping the original rim would be the best for the car.

So wondering if there's any good suggestion with good price for tires?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions and help.
Sponsored

Vic_L

First Name
Victor
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Honda Civic Hatchback Sport
Country flag
Sorry I am new with car stuffs, please bare with me if questions are quite dumb.

Recently I got a Type R, and I realized it comes with a summer tire but in Vancouver the weather here is mostly rainy all year and some snow during the winter. I am not using the car for tracks. So I am thinking of getting a set of new tires which would fit for the whole year without changing between winter / summer tires when season comes.

I did google around but don't really know what should be good. I thought of changing rim to 19" but quite a few people and read this post https://www.roadandtrack.com/car-cu...5683452/smaller-lighter-wheels-hurt-handling/ that keeping the original rim would be the best for the car.

Correct, going down to 18" or 19" will affect the handling; as mentioned in the Road & Track article, Honda used the specific size and offset to help eliminate/minimize torque steer.