The Infamous 2nd Gear Crunch

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruckus

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Civic Type R. 2012 Honda Ruckus. 2001 civic sedan. 2012 accord sedan.
Country flag
has anybody else experience any nasty grinding while shifting gears? and before you ask no im not out driving like an asshole, literally just normal driving. i only have 30 miles on my R so far and ive had it happen 3 times so far and only in 2nd, for now anyways. goes into gear okay but just an awful grinding sound. yes i know how to drive a manual never owned anything else. trans fluid is good, no other problems so far. also i am a tech at my dealer so dont just tell me to take it in, im the one who has to diagnose it lmao. let me know people!

Since this post was created so long ago now, and has had thousands of replies and over 100 pages worth to read from it has been requested by a member of the forum that i post the links to helpful information in this thread that has been lost in the clutter. listed below you will find information gathered by members of the community that in their experience has at least helped lesson the frequency of which they experience "The Crunch". i cannot personally say i have tested these methods or confirmed they "fix" the issues, but if the information will help others ill gladly make it easy to find. As of this time Honda does not have a publish fix for this issue, and many people have had different experiences with the dealerships. If you have information you would like me to pin to this post that you truly believe should be made available and help others please send me a PM and ill consider adding it. Hope it helps!

https://www.civicx.com/forum/threads/the-infamous-2nd-gear-crunch.12890/post-788138
Sponsored

Last edited:

98-0425

First Name
Nick
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
18 Civic Type-R #12307, 98 Integra Type-R #0425, 07 Pilot EX-L, 17 Pilot Elite
Country flag
Go get it checked out

GSquared

Threads
Reaction score