Stock Tires in 5 to 10° C (50° in Fahrenheit) Weather

lexro

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Civic LX 2006, Civic Sedan Sport 2019, Type R 2021
Country flag
Hi all,

I understand that the stock tires are sports performance tires and are not meant to driven in cold weather. To my knowledge, below 7° the performance of the tire drastically decreases.

I have appointment to change them into winter setup in first week of November, by then average temperature in my area would hover between 5 to 10 (sometimes 15°C if there's a heat wave of sort).

I granny drive the car a lot during work commute, and due to traffic average speed is pretty slow too.

My question is that do you guys think it would be alright as long as I don't drive aggressively? It's my first time ever driving with performance tire so I just wanted to be sure.

Thanks!
Sponsored

MoodySara

First Name
Paul
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Type R - Boost Blue; 2024 Civic Touring - SGP
Country flag
Here's what Tire Rack has to say about it.

In anticipation of the next time Mother Nature extends her cold reach, drivers with vehicles equipped with summer performance tires need to know those tires are not designed for near- or below-freezing temperatures on clear roads, nor in slush, snow and ice.

When faced with near- and below-freezing temperatures, drivers should leave their summer performance tire-equipped vehicle at home and drive a vehicle equipped with all-season or winter tires.

Summer performance tires feature tread compounds engineered to provide traction in warm to hot ambient temperatures. They were never intended to experience near- and below-freezing temperatures, nor the wintry driving conditions that often accompany them.