Should I get a tune?

OP
OP
gtman

gtman

Senior Member
First Name
Mitch
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Threads
301
Messages
13,250
Reaction score
19,333
Location
USA
Website
www.civicx.com
Car(s)
2017 Cosmic Blue EX-L Sedan
Vehicle Showcase
2
Country flag
Ok, so I'm going back and forth deciding between Ktuner and Flashpro and if I should pull the trigger sooner or wait. It's my daily driver and I mostly am looking for less lag, and a bit more mid-range power. Not too concerned about ultimate power at the top end. And of course I'm worried about CVT reliability.

If I don't get a custom tune, which base tunes overall would be better as far as driveability and reliability? Flashpro or Ktuner?

 

dallasjhawk

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2016
Threads
23
Messages
4,062
Reaction score
4,066
Location
Royse City, TX
Car(s)
2016 Civic EX-T, 2015 Acura RDX AWD Tech
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
Ok, so I'm going back and forth deciding between Ktuner and Flashpro and if I should pull the trigger sooner or wait. It's my daily driver and I mostly am looking for less lag, and a bit more mid-range power. Not too concerned about ultimate power at the top end. And of course I'm worried about CVT reliability.

If I don't get a custom tune, which base tunes overall would be better as far as driveability and reliability? Flashpro or Ktuner?
Both are decent options for a set it and forget it tune. You can tinker with "quick adjustments" on ktuner to your liking to fit your driving style. These are easy selections to make on a drop down box, no tuning knowledge needed. You can adjust turbo spool, throttle responsiveness, part throttle responsiveness, boost target ramp rate, and eco button. Each has multiple choices from slight improvements to all out aggressive. Then you look at costs, if you dont care for the touchscreen on the v2 the Ktuner v1 is less expensive than the flashpro.

I can't speak for much else on the flashpro, when I ran it on my 10th gen, they had the +6 psi tune for the cvt and it was set it and drive. There weren't any options and I was about to go messing with fueling or boost tables without knowing what I was doing. It may have changed now, I saw you can change the torque tables now but that's all I know about the current gen and flashpro
 
OP
OP
gtman

gtman

Senior Member
First Name
Mitch
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Threads
301
Messages
13,250
Reaction score
19,333
Location
USA
Website
www.civicx.com
Car(s)
2017 Cosmic Blue EX-L Sedan
Vehicle Showcase
2
Country flag
Both are decent options for a set it and forget it tune. You can tinker with "quick adjustments" on ktuner to your liking to fit your driving style. These are easy selections to make on a drop down box, no tuning knowledge needed. You can adjust turbo spool, throttle responsiveness, part throttle responsiveness, boost target ramp rate, and eco button. Each has multiple choices from slight improvements to all out aggressive. Then you look at costs, if you dont care for the touchscreen on the v2 the Ktuner v1 is less expensive than the flashpro.

I can't speak for much else on the flashpro, when I ran it on my 10th gen, they had the +6 psi tune for the cvt and it was set it and drive. There weren't any options and I was about to go messing with fueling or boost tables without knowing what I was doing. It may have changed now, I saw you can change the torque tables now but that's all I know about the current gen and flashpro
Dallas... thanks for that great post.

Basically, I'm just looking for a set it and forget it tune. Right now I'm leaning towards a Ktuner V2. I'd get a V1 but I only have a desktop. My biggest want is to get rid of as much of the "stomp on the accelerator and nothing happens" behavior in traffic. What Ktuner quick settings would be best to help with that? Sorry for asking such a newb question.
 

dallasjhawk

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2016
Threads
23
Messages
4,062
Reaction score
4,066
Location
Royse City, TX
Car(s)
2016 Civic EX-T, 2015 Acura RDX AWD Tech
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
Dallas... thanks for that great post.

Basically, I'm just looking for a set it and forget it tune. Right now I'm leaning towards a Ktuner V2. I'd get a V1 but I only have a desktop. My biggest want is to get rid of as much of the "stomp on the accelerator and nothing happens" behavior in traffic. What Ktuner quick settings would be best to help with that? Sorry for asking such a newb question.
Make all of the quick adjustment either Improved II and choose Aggressive II where you can. These settings will make your stock tires spin though, but when you press the gas for power, it goes
 

10GenCVT

Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Threads
3
Messages
46
Reaction score
23
Location
Southern California
Car(s)
'16 Civic Coupe EX-T
Asking for a friend... If he is leasing his car and wants to get a Ktuner flash, would the dealership be able to detect the ECU was modded at time of turn in if he flashed back to stock?
 


17siturb0

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2016
Threads
6
Messages
1,315
Reaction score
841
Location
U.S North east
Car(s)
2017 civic si sedan, 2006 civic si coupe
Asking for a friend... If he is leasing his car and wants to get a Ktuner flash, would the dealership be able to detect the ECU was modded at time of turn in if he flashed back to stock?
There’s people using Ktuner or flashpro on leased cars. Just return to stock and re sell the unit when you are done.
 

fiend busa

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Threads
54
Messages
1,380
Reaction score
544
Location
Canada
Car(s)
2018 Civic Type R
Country flag
Asking for a friend... If he is leasing his car and wants to get a Ktuner flash, would the dealership be able to detect the ECU was modded at time of turn in if he flashed back to stock?
They can if you give them a good enough reason to.
 

batman900

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2017
Threads
10
Messages
319
Reaction score
194
Location
Oklahoma
Car(s)
2019 Type-R 2020 4Runner 2019 Camry 2011 Accord
Country flag
Asking for a friend... If he is leasing his car and wants to get a Ktuner flash, would the dealership be able to detect the ECU was modded at time of turn in if he flashed back to stock?
They aren't going to check the ECU for flash counts for no reason. People have gotten a CVT replacement and they didn't check. You have to really abuse the car to the point of breaking "and" get un-lucky to have them check for a previous flash. Not saying it doesn't happen but the fear of it is un-warranted if your a responsible driver and don't track or go to the drag strip too often.
 

Myx

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2016
Threads
76
Messages
2,096
Reaction score
1,839
Location
Delaware
Car(s)
2018 Honda Civic EX (Hatchback/CVT)
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
Asking for a friend... If he is leasing his car and wants to get a Ktuner flash, would the dealership be able to detect the ECU was modded at time of turn in if he flashed back to stock?
Tell your friend if they want peace-of-mind, don't do it. Then they will not have anything to worry about. If they are not worried about it, go for it. Just your friend asking is a red flag. No need for them to go through that anytime the car is taken to the dealership.
 

17siturb0

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2016
Threads
6
Messages
1,315
Reaction score
841
Location
U.S North east
Car(s)
2017 civic si sedan, 2006 civic si coupe
I personally wouldn’t modify a leased car in any way, not even a tune. Lots of people get butt hurt hearing that, but if you want to be worry free, don’t do it like said above.
 
Last edited:


10GenCVT

Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Threads
3
Messages
46
Reaction score
23
Location
Southern California
Car(s)
'16 Civic Coupe EX-T
They aren't going to check the ECU for flash counts for no reason. People have gotten a CVT replacement and they didn't check. You have to really abuse the car to the point of breaking "and" get un-lucky to have them check for a previous flash. Not saying it doesn't happen but the fear of it is un-warranted if your a responsible driver and don't track or go to the drag strip too often.
Thanks.. You have made it clear that they can in fact see a "flash count" to determine a modification and a flash to stock would not be "undetectable".
 

dallasjhawk

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2016
Threads
23
Messages
4,062
Reaction score
4,066
Location
Royse City, TX
Car(s)
2016 Civic EX-T, 2015 Acura RDX AWD Tech
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
Thanks.. You have made it clear that they can in fact see a "flash count" to determine a modification and a flash to stock would not be "undetectable".
They dont even know what is flashed at a dealer level. If you take your car in for the CVT surge update, they flash your car. I just had mine in and they completely updated the ecu software. They literally have no clue what is happening.
 

fiend busa

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Threads
54
Messages
1,380
Reaction score
544
Location
Canada
Car(s)
2018 Civic Type R
Country flag
They dont even know what is flashed at a dealer level. If you take your car in for the CVT surge update, they flash your car. I just had mine in and they completely updated the ecu software. They literally have no clue what is happening.
Didn't someone post who blew their engine, they brought some engineer in and saw the boost levels etc..
 

dallasjhawk

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2016
Threads
23
Messages
4,062
Reaction score
4,066
Location
Royse City, TX
Car(s)
2016 Civic EX-T, 2015 Acura RDX AWD Tech
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
Didn't someone post who blew their engine, they brought some engineer in and saw the boost levels etc..
That was Honda Canada and yes it was a blown engine, not a cvt issue. he blew his engine from a missed shift, and it over revved and bent the rods. He took it in for warranty, they, the dealer, saw the over rev code and that is an immediate denial of warranty. They called in someone from corporate to offload the data from the ECU and apparently they could see then. Im only assuming here, but they would have had no need to call corporate in really, unless the owner was fighting the warranty denial. Also, if someone brings in a blown engine for warranty, Honda is going to want to look at it to make sure it was a one off issue and not a widespread issue, like the 2.0 had.

Ive heard of at least 3 CVTs being broken and taken in and replaced under warranty with no questions asked. One of them, the guy said it wouldn't shift out of park and The shop book says, if something in the cvt is broken, its a full replacement, they do not even have to take it apart at the dealer level to see, its an automatic cvt replacement job.
 

REDRAGN53

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Threads
7
Messages
128
Reaction score
75
Location
GA
Car(s)
No Civic now..
That was Honda Canada and yes it was a blown engine, not a cvt issue. he blew his engine from a missed shift, and it over revved and bent the rods. He took it in for warranty, they, the dealer, saw the over rev code and that is an immediate denial of warranty. They called in someone from corporate to offload the data from the ECU and apparently they could see then. Im only assuming here, but they would have had no need to call corporate in really, unless the owner was fighting the warranty denial. Also, if someone brings in a blown engine for warranty, Honda is going to want to look at it to make sure it was a one off issue and not a widespread issue, like the 2.0 had.

Ive heard of at least 3 CVTs being broken and taken in and replaced under warranty with no questions asked. One of them, the guy said it wouldn't shift out of park and The shop book says, if something in the cvt is broken, its a full replacement, they do not even have to take it apart at the dealer level to see, its an automatic cvt replacement job.
Its important to note: The overrev that caused warranty denial can happen to a totally stock car...its driver error.

 

 
Top