1.5T Regarding fk7 aftermarket exhaust/front pipe/down pipe

hal9000_logic

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
FK7
Country flag
Full disclosure I'm new to modifying cars and this new (new to me, 2018) fk7 became my kind of mid-life crisis project so please bear with me, I'm here to learn and hopefully my questions aren't too asinine. These are probably questions I should've asked before I purchased what I did, but also wouldn't have thought about these things before so here we are.

Started slowly with lots of aesthetic mods and worked my way towards engine/power goal modifications. Through that process found a 27won exhaust on an fk7 with a burnt up frontend that I was going to be able to get for less than half price if I was able to remove it myself. Saved me about $700 off the only price I could find online so I thought hell yeah let's take a chance.

So thanks to YouTube tutorials on removal/swap I now have a 27won performance exhaust, including the 27won front pipe. I was originally just going to swap it all but after doing a bit more research I felt like I should ask a couple of questions more specific to my case. Only performance related mod completed so far is an Injen cold air intake. No tune yet but am interested in that after the bolt ons.

1. Is it worth it or is there a downside to swapping out the whole exhaust including front pipe _without_ springing for a downpipe to swap at the same time? From what I could find online it sounded like stock catted downpipes were not so much of a choke point so unless I was willing to get a catless downpipe (which I don't think I am) it sounds like I'd be fine just doing a straight swap with the new parts?