PSA: Flash to Factory AND Unlock Ktuner from ECU prior to service

OP
OP
arpypat

arpypat

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2019
Threads
39
Messages
2,786
Reaction score
4,063
Location
⛔️
Vehicle(s)
Civic
Build Thread
Link
Vehicle Showcase
1
Did you try what they mentioned about making sure you're fully seating the KTuner into the OBD-II port? It's worth a shot.
Oh ya, I tried unplugging and replugging several times. You can see how many times I tried to reflash lol

It's definitely fully seated, because it's still logging all the info from the ECU and still transmitting to Tunerview.
Sponsored

 

gtman

Senior Member
First Name
Mitch
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Threads
335
Messages
17,378
Reaction score
25,434
Location
USA
Website
www.civicx.com
Vehicle(s)
2017 Cosmic Blue EX-L Sedan
Vehicle Showcase
2
One last idea. With the KTuner unit NOT in the OBD-II port, put your car into accessory mode FIRST. Then plug it into the OBD-II. Maybe that will reset things?
 
OP
OP
arpypat

arpypat

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2019
Threads
39
Messages
2,786
Reaction score
4,063
Location
⛔️
Vehicle(s)
Civic
Build Thread
Link
Vehicle Showcase
1
One last idea. With the KTuner unit NOT in the OBD-II port, put your car into accessory mode FIRST. Then plug it into the OBD-II. Maybe that will reset things?
I tried that too! Trust me, I tried so many different variations of plug sequences.

It's highly likely that there is a mismatch to the ECU before and after I went to the dealership.

It might be that ECM/PCM/ECU are all interchangeable acronyms on this platform, and the dealer swapping out my PCM means they swapped out my ECU.
 
OP
OP
arpypat

arpypat

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2019
Threads
39
Messages
2,786
Reaction score
4,063
Location
⛔️
Vehicle(s)
Civic
Build Thread
Link
Vehicle Showcase
1
I tried that too! Trust me, I tried so many different variations of plug sequences.

It's highly likely that there is a mismatch to the ECU before and after I went to the dealership.

It might be that ECM/PCM/ECU are all interchangeable acronyms on this platform, and the dealer swapping out my PCM means they swapped out my ECU.
Okay, I think PCM and ECU mean the same thing on this car.. 37820-5AM-A12 is my "ECU" number in Ktuner


Honda Civic 10th gen PSA: Flash to Factory AND Unlock Ktuner from ECU prior to service 1712079735524-az
 

gtman

Senior Member
First Name
Mitch
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Threads
335
Messages
17,378
Reaction score
25,434
Location
USA
Website
www.civicx.com
Vehicle(s)
2017 Cosmic Blue EX-L Sedan
Vehicle Showcase
2
Last edited:


Romeoridgee

Honda Dealer Tech.
First Name
Rob
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Threads
36
Messages
1,875
Reaction score
913
Location
Maryland
Vehicle(s)
19 SPT 17 EX-T 08 LX 21 CRV 12 Acc 14 328I CONV
Vehicle Showcase
1
Country flag
I flashed back to factory tune before I brought my car into the dealer. And they only replaced the PCM and not the ECU, unless that is combined in one unit on this car?

I did try to upload my Phearable tune and the stock tune when got my car back, but to no avail. The unit was not responding to any flash attempts.

And @gtman - I did find the error message:

1712077077402-7p.png
Oh yeah you said that. Duh lmao. Yeah engine computer is called multiple things
 

KTuner

Elite Sponsor
First Name
J.R.
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Threads
30
Messages
2,802
Reaction score
3,444
Location
Chandler, Arizona
Website
www.KTuner.com
Vehicle(s)
2017 Si
Country flag
Yes, PCM, ECM, ECU are all terms for the engine control unit. If that was replaced without unlocking a unit the unit is still locked to the old one. We've been scammed several times. We no longer accept paypal or CC for a service we have no obligation to offer at all. It's not worth the trouble to deal with. We offer to help those who are stuck and we're not going to take a risk while doing so. This process eats up our tech's time, resources, and needs to be shipped back to the customer as well. It is insane the amount of these requests we get for these with all sorts of stories attached. We don't have the staff or time.
 
Last edited:

Spunkmire

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2019
Threads
9
Messages
165
Reaction score
162
Location
Southern California
Vehicle(s)
2019 Si Sedan
Country flag
Just my 2 cents for the people calling Ktuner scammers.

My unit caught fire at the OBD input cable. I sent it my unit to them after contacting them and they sent it back to me fixed; and didn't charge me a dime.

These people are not scammers.
 
OP
OP
arpypat

arpypat

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2019
Threads
39
Messages
2,786
Reaction score
4,063
Location
⛔️
Vehicle(s)
Civic
Build Thread
Link
Vehicle Showcase
1
Got my v1.2 unit reset and shipped back to me on Thursday. Was able to successfully flash this ECU on Friday with my existing tune file *phew*!

Driving on stock tune for the past 2 weeks has humbled me. John Vega really put together something special with this 1.5R tune!
 

gtman

Senior Member
First Name
Mitch
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Threads
335
Messages
17,378
Reaction score
25,434
Location
USA
Website
www.civicx.com
Vehicle(s)
2017 Cosmic Blue EX-L Sedan
Vehicle Showcase
2
This is not a knock of D-Rob. He is a world class tuner. But John Vega knocked it out of the park with the 1.5R tune (both Si and Non-Si versions).
Sponsored

 


 


Top