Jbegs2020

First Name
Joe
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 civic si sedan
Country flag
Ok so I've been posting a bit of threads only because I'm new to the game, but anyway I installed a 3"catless downpipe and frontpipe on and of course to no surprise I could smell the glorious ? CO which doesn't bother me. Today now being 8 days since install I occasionally smell burning oil ??. Now I used to have an 05 grand cherokee with the im not sure if anyone here knows absolutely horrible valve guide seal leakage. Not saying at all that that's what's happening here what so ever because I only 11k on the motor, but I am a little concerned as to what it could possibly be. Let me know thoughts please. Also I heard a couple pops on decel in 5th at a low rpm which kinda made me think of the low rpm pre ignition bullshit.
Sponsored

Gruber

First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Honda Civic Sport Touring; 2009 Honda CR-V EX-L
Country flag
How bad is that CO smell?

ATX_Si

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Civic Si Coupe (gone). 2018 Accord EX-L 1.5t (gone) 2020 Audi Q3 S-Line. 2018 Accord Sport 2.0T 6MT
Country flag
Pops on decel? like exhaust pops and burbles or like full on backfire pops? maybe look around the valve cover for an external oil leak or pull the undershield and look for oil build up on the shield. may be residual oil build up from a leak or something burning off every so often. start with what you can see before you start worrying about what you can't.

OP
OP
Jbegs2020

Jbegs2020

First Name
Joe
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 civic si sedan
Country flag
Pops on decel? like exhaust pops and burbles or like full on backfire pops? maybe look around the valve cover for an external oil leak or pull the undershield and look for oil build up on the shield. may be residual oil build up from a leak or something burning off every so often. start with what you can see before you start worrying about what you can't.