Now at 60k miles, mileage isn't as good

1981CBX

First Name
William
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Honda Touring Coupe (owned) 2018 Accord base model (leased) 1981 Honda CBX motorcycle
Country flag
Consider that gummies build up on the turbine blades of your turbo, the throttle body, on the backside of your intake valves.

1981CBX

First Name
William
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Honda Touring Coupe (owned) 2018 Accord base model (leased) 1981 Honda CBX motorcycle
Country flag
Wow really? So there is more than one area to watch out for carbon buildup?
I've never worked on turbos, I'm not a licensed mechanic for planes or cars, but our Pratt & Whitney PT6 engine in our aircraft have a hose coupling so the mechanics can run a blade wash procedure on them. I've never seen it done, but whether it's that engine or our car engines, they process a lot of air over time and then there's the idea of recirculating oily/gasoline air from the crankcase that comes around. I had a normally aspirated 2L, 4 cylinder Camry at about 120K miles that had a sticky gas pedal, I thought it was gummed up or rusty linkages. I was informed I had a sticky throttle plate in the throttle body. I took the breather off, took the intake hose off, removed the throttle body so it could be tilted, sprayed gunk cleaner all in the area, careful not to let any get in the engine. Cleaned it all up, put it back together, vroom, vroom. Engines process a lot of air and though the filters get the big junk, things get dirty.

wdubose05

First Name
William
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Civic Si Sedan
Country flag
How about spark plugs? Checked their gaps recently? My Ecoboost F150 would go through plugs every 30k miles. Mileage would slowly drop off as would power/responsiveness.

Gotch

First Name
Rob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Si
Country flag
Mostly hwy driving. KTuner tuned. 35k kms