Noise from rear wheels, rotors

EPSi2FKR

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 CBP Civic Type R, 2014 Lexus IS350
Country flag
So, I was coming off the throttle coasting home and noticed an intermittent chirping/squeaking sound.

Here is the drivers side rear tire with the car
jacked up. It makes more of a scratching sound.

I looked for a stuck pebble or debris. Didn’t find any, and that would be a more constant sound than I’m hearing. Cleaned things up, pushed the heat shields back a bit, but no improvement. Searched the forum and closest similarity is this one:

Horrendous rhythmic chirping noise | 2016+ Honda Civic Forum (10th Gen) - Type R Forum, Si Forum - CivicX.com

Took it to a meineke, they spun it, said the rotor was warped, that it will take care of its self over time and the noise is only bothering me. Sounds reasonable to me. What the heck do I know, I’m just getting started with all this.
The car is a 2020, has seen one good track weekend and has around 3000 miles on it. The problem is worse on the drivers side but is on BOTH sides! No sound from the front.
So here are the questions: is this a problem I ride out? Did I screw my rotors on my track weekend (didn’t use the parking brake at the track; had a one millisecond oops when I turned it on after session number 2 day 1 and quickly turned it off)? Are they defective or is this an issue that I need to go to the Honda dealership? Basically what are your thoughts? Thanks

Last edited:

Hatchi

First Name
Liam
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2007 Prius, 2020 BBP CTR
Country flag