boscotheduck

First Name
Sean
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Civic Si
Country flag
Hello all, I’m new to the forum and wanted to make a post sharing my experience tracking my 17 Si so far.

The car: 2017 Si sedan, all stock with the exception of 18x8 +48 Volk CE28SL with 245/40-18 RE71R, Porterfield R4 front pads and Motul RBF600 brake fluid. I also have the front strut pins pulled for more negative camber. Front toe is zeroed.

The track: Gingerman Raceway in South Haven, MI

Me: I’m an average to acceptable driver on my absolute best day.

Disclaimer: just my experience and opinions. I’m not an expert by any stretch.

I brought my Si to Gingerman Raceway this past weekend and ran in their novice group with my 17 Si. It was very cold with lows in the morning around 19° and highs in the upper 30°s on the second day. The best lap I could muster was 1:50:61, which is decent from the feed back I received. This was my first time at Gingerman and my first time on the RE71R and Porterfield pads. Here’s some thoughts/findings:

1. RE71R wasn’t too bad in the cold. A little slippery for the first couple laps with full grip by the third. These tires absolutely live up to the hype. I found that running right around 33psi in the front and 30psi in the rear worked well.
  2. I encountered sputtering in turn 10b which is slightly off camber and brutalizes LF tires. I determined that with right around 3-4 gallons in the tank in the hard right hander I would encounter fuel starvation. This resulted in going into limp mode once. Keeping the tank always filled over half alleviated this issue.
  3. I found my front caliper piston boots are burnt, almost melted. I’d speculate if a lot of track time is in your Si’s future a higher temp boot kit may be needed.