New Exhaust and I have questions.

First Name
Tommy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Honda Civic SI Coupe
Country flag
okay so I'm new to the civic si. The last Honda I had was a 1996 Honda accord SOHC F22 long block NA.

This is the first vehicle I've ever owned that has a turbo which changes things when it comes to mods. (2019 Honda civic si coupe 1.5L)

Of course the first thing I wanted to do was put an exhaust on it, so here's what I did.

Right behind the CAT after the 3 bolt flange I cut the exhaust and welded on a universal 2 bolt flange to new pipe and pre-existing pipe including the stock exhaust so if I need to go back to it I can.

The exhaust I put on is 3" Straight pipe out the back. No resonator or Mufflers.

I absolutely LOVE the way it sounds, however after having it on for a couple weeks I've been noticing that there's less power on the low end of course because there's less back pressure I figured that would happen. What I did not account for was the effect it would have on the turbo. I've been noticing a lean smell. obviously Honda has changed a lot of things between 1996 and 2019 lol. I'd like to know some thoughts on what is going on. Still very new to the turbo chargers.

Secondly, Just yesterday I got a Boomba Racing BOV. Already installed Drove it around for about an hour and I noticed a rich smell when I'm on the gas but I'm still getting that lean smell at idle.

I don't have a Ktuner or hondata flashpro, and my OBDII reader isn't capable of pulling up any data logs. I'm not throwing any codes but I've been around small engines enough to know when something a little off.

That being said what do you guys think? Am I good to continue driving it like it is until I order a Ktuner? also is there any way for me to pull up any data logs on the screen in the car or is that something Honda doesn't want me to do lol

I can post pics or video if anyone thinks they will find it helpful.
Sponsored

KOIVUN1

First Name
Steve
Threads