Crystax

First Name
Evan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Type R
Country flag
Hey Everyone, first time on this forum. :)

I recently purchased a 2020 CTR, but noticed that my OEM breaks are really loud and squeaky when I break at low speeds. It's gotten to the point I am embarrassed to drive in town because I turn heads when I brake.

I don't know if I will ever get to take this thing on a track, so I am looking for some good daily drivers that are quiet. I don't mind spending more for something that is better performance, but it needs to not squeak and drive me crazy. I would love some recommendations as I am new to this car scene :) Thanks in advance!

EDIT: Credit to fatherpain for pointing out that brake dust could be causing increased noise. I had been cleaning my rims but never once thinking to wipe/spray down the disks. Sure enough there was a decent amount of brake dust built up. Once I cleaned the disks the brake squeal decreased by 90%, back down to a normal level.

Thanks for all the brake pad recommendations. When it comes time to swapping my pads I now have the info in this thread to fall back on :)
Sponsored

Last edited:

Quip

First Name
Paper
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Rallye Red
Country flag
You sacrifice performance with quieter pads. OEM pads are great for day to day driving.

Akebono, Hawk are also another option.

OP
OP

Crystax

First Name
Evan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Type R
Country flag
You sacrifice performance with quieter pads. OEM pads are great for day to day driving.

Akebono, Hawk are also another option.
Yeah I know there will be some performance loss, but these OEM's are just too loud. Do you experience this as well?

Any brakepads in particular from those brands you recommended?

civicren

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
sport touring cvt 2017
Country flag
(I don't own a type R but I am currently using wilwood BBK)
I had similar experience as OP.
Dashcam of the noise when braking: