swinks

First Name
Daniel
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2003 Ford Explorer XLT 4.6L V8 2019 Civic 2.0L CVT
Country flag
I’ve recently gotten a 2019 honda civic from my aunt that my parents helped a little bit in paying off. I’m thinking about getting a ktuner V1.2 for it but i know doing so will get my parents worried about losing the warranty. I’ve heard you can flash the tuner back to stock settings though so would i be in the clear using that? I’d be running stock everything so what kind of gains would I be getting from the tuner? I’m new to performance mods since my old car wouldn’t be worth putting money into. Any help would be great.
Sponsored

Beansley

First Name
Ben
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Civic Hatchback Sport Touring
Country flag
I’ve recently gotten a 2019 honda civic from my aunt that my parents helped a little bit in paying off. I’m thinking about getting a ktuner V1.2 for it but i know doing so will get my parents worried about losing the warranty. I’ve heard you can flash the tuner back to stock settings though so would i be in the clear using that? I’d be running stock everything so what kind of gains would I be getting from the tuner? I’m new to performance mods since my old car wouldn’t be worth putting money into. Any help would be great.

As far as I know it's still up for debate whether or not you'll be putting your car in jeopardy for voiding your warranty. A big factor is how you treat it with tunes, whether that be slamming it at from a stop or getting in and tweaking things a little too far.

You can go check out gtman's tuning reliability survey to better help you make a decision.

gtman

First Name
Mitch
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.civicx.com
Vehicle(s)
2017 Cosmic Blue EX-L Sedan
Vehicle Showcase
Here's the thing. A base tune with a more or less stock setup, driven normally, likely won't have a problem in terms of reliability. But it will be like driving a different car, literally. It's that big of a difference.