Is this normal for the Civic ?

Swordfish

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Honda Civic
Country flag
Hello, I just recently purchased a 2017 Civic EX (no turbo). It's my first time owning a Honda and I am coming from a Prius.

When I am driving the vehicle and slowing down, or slowly braking it almost feels like an abrupt downshifting or like a mini rough shift. The car has 220 miles on it and this is the first week I am driving it. I did see surging issues with other cars, but it appears those are primarily for the turbo versions which mine does not have. I did not know if this is part of the way Honda Civics are managing the engine, or automatic shifting, etc....

Unfortunately I don't have a better way of describing this and it's not the end of the world, but I was not sure if it was part of the normal operation. It feels like a rough downshift with an automatic if I had to describe the feeling. It only happens when I am slowing down .

Thanks
Sponsored

Billy4202

Banned
Banned
First Name
Will
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'16 BNP Touring, '07 Mercury Milan
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
100% normal, just a characteristic with this CVT. It's rather pronounced in certain situations - such as having to break hard, then letting off the brake a bit to come to a smoother stop.

For what it's worth - other CVT cars I've driven (Outback, Altima, Versa) haven't had this characteristic.

OP
OP
Swordfish

Swordfish

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Honda Civic
Country flag
Thanks I wasn't sure it feels strange but if it's normal then I won't worry about it. I have not experienced this on any other car I have driven in the past so just thought I'd ask!

domm92

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 civic touring
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag